• Welcome to SanctionedSuicide, a pro-choice forum for the discussion of mental illness and suicide. Please read our rules and our Principles.
    If you are in need of immediate support, please call the Samaritans hotline at (877) 870-4673, or check our recovery resources.

• If you haven't yet, we highly encourage you to check out our Recovery Resources thread!
meetapple

meetapple

I have been told by my psychiatrist that I have poor self-esteem. I thought volunteering would be a good way to improve my self-esteem. Since I have a law degree I tried volunteering for a nonprofit writing reports on proposed regulations. I eventually quit because I was frustrated with the quality of reports I was writing. I did not feel it had as much impact on my life as I thought it would. It has now been over half a year since I quit and I have been a NEET since then. I have now done some research and have identified the Gutenberg Project as a potential opportunity. It would involve transcribing texts in the public domain. Has anyone used volunteering as a way to improve self-esteem and outlook on life and what were the results?

Alwaysbadtime

Alwaysbadtime

Mage
I think you should go for it. It sounds like at least tasks that you can use your brain. I recently was given a stipulation that I had to seek places to volunteer in order to stay where I am at. Being in a very shitty town, in a shitty area I have not found anything great (I tried and am still sort of looking around, but there isn't anything). What really sucks is I pretend to go to the places. Good luck.

• Love
Reactions: Huntfish34
C

Computer Blue