• Welcome to SanctionedSuicide, a pro-choice forum for the discussion of mental illness and suicide. Please read our rules and our Principles.
    If you are in need of immediate support, please call the Samaritans hotline at (877) 870-4673, or check our recovery resources.

C

C8THEGR8

Drunk and Disordered
Hello! This is my first time participating here, but I've been reading through a lot while I waited for my account to be approved. First let me say this is just questions about why I failed in this method a decade ago (as a young teen), and I have no intention on trying this method again. It's simply out of curiosity.

I tried to overdose on paracetamol when I was a teen, I had read about how it actually kills you but I thought the days/weeks of suffering would be worth it to have a guaranteed death in the end. I weighed approximately 55kg, I took approximately 60 X 500mg tablets, so 30g.

I had read online the fatal dose for adults was 10g, a packet is 12g, so I bought two packets plus what we had in the house and figured it would be enough. I took them after my father went to sleep, kept them all down, went to bed. Next day I was feeling ill, had a headache and an upset stomach, but still no vomiting/diarrhoea. So they stayed down. I expected to start getting symptoms of liver failure within days but didn't tell anyone/try to change it, but instead I was just fine and no one has ever known I did that.

My questions are:
-any one have a clue why nothing happened?
-is my math wrong? I've always sucked at math and that's what I assumed for years but I'm not sure
-is it normal to not panic after you take something you believe will kill you? Or even the next day?
-if my liver somehow just dealt with it, could I have permanently damaged it? Or in the years after would it have fixed itself with no help?

Thanks in advanced!

E

ErzsebetBATHORY

BLOOD COUNTESS. ashes ashes, we all fall down
C8THEGR8 said: